NASA's 8th Group of Astronauts


US Astronauts met the goals NASA set forth for the Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo Programs.

Click on the emblems to read about the programs and the astronauts involved in each.


These accomplished goals led the way for US astronauts to venture into space with
Skylab, the Apollo Soyuz Test Project, and the Space Shuttle.


NASA announced its 8th group of 35 astronauts in January of 1978

Guion S. Bluford Jr, Daniel C. Brandenstein, James F. Buchli, Michael L. Coats, Richard O. Covey, John O. Creighton, John M. Fabian, Anna L. Fisher, Dale A. Gardner, Robert L. Gibson, Frederick D. Gregory, S. David Griggs, Terry J. Hart, Frederick H. Hauck, Steven A. Hawley, Jeffrey A. Hoffman, Shannon W. Lucid, Jon A. McBride, Ronald E. McNair, Richard M. Mullane, Steven R. Nagel, George D. Nelson, Ellison S. Onizuka, Judith A. Resnik, Sally K. Ride, Francis R. Scobee, Margaret Rhea Seddon, Brewster H. Shaw, Jr, Loren J.Shriver, Robert L. Stewart, Kathryn D. Sullivan, Norman E. Thagard, James D. A. van Hoften, David M. Walker, Donald E. Williams

Click on the pictures to read the individual astronaut's bio:

Guion S. Bluford Daniel C. Brandenstein James F. Buchli Michael L. Coats Richard O. Covey

John O. Creighton John M. Fabian   





Click on the guestbook to visit the Space Education Examiner
and leave your comments there:

The Original Seven
Honoring America's First Astronauts

NASA's 2nd Group of Astronauts
A Second Group is Chosen

NASA's 3rd Group of Astronauts
Another Group Is Needed

NASA's 4th Group of Astronauts
Eureka! NASA finds its 4th group!

NASA's 5th Group of Astronauts
Pilot Astronauts

NASA's 6th Group of Astronauts
Scientist Astronauts

NASA's 7th Group of Astronauts
Last Group Chosen During the Apollo Era